Ashta Vinayak

Overview | How to Reach | Sightseeing | Hotels | Map | Photos

The Exciting Journey To Ashta Vinayak

Ashta Vinayak is one of the popular pilgrimage destinations in Maharashtra. Ashta Vinayak temples are situated around the city Pune in the whole of Maharashtra. All Ashta Vinayak temples are the home to Lord Ganesha and hold a great religious significance.

Ashtavinayak is home to eight holy temples of Lord Ganesha and which is why this pilgrimage is called Ashta Vinayak yatra. These Ganesha idols are not hand-carved but it is believed that these idols were made by the nature itself.

The most astonishing fact about the Ashtavinayak Ganesha idols is that each one of these has a different trunk and the overall form of each idol differs from others. As a custom, the pilgrims who visit Ashta Vinayak have to visit the first temple again after finishing the visit to all eight.

Ashta Vinayak Temples

Ashtavinayak Yatra sequence

  1. The first Ganesha – Moreshwar temple at Moregaon, Pune district,
  2. Second Ganesha – Siddhivinayak temple at Siddhatek, Ahmednagar district,
  3. Third Ganesha – Ballaleshwar temple, Pali, Raigad district,
  4. Fourth Ganesha – Varadavinayak temple, Mahad, Raigad district,
  5. Fifth Ganesha – Chintamani temple, Theur, Pune district,
  6. Sixth Ganesha – Girijatmaj Temple, Lenyadri, Pune district,
  7. Seventh Ganesha – Vighnahar temple, Ozar, Pune district,
  8. Eight Gahesha – Mahaganapati Temple, Ranjangaon, Pune district.

These idols of Lord Ganesha, are believed to be Self-Existing. People have a lot of faith in Lord Ganesha and visit Ashta Vinayak often. There areĀ a lot of travel agencies that arrange Ashta Vinayak Yatra which can be generally completed within 2-3 days from anywhere in Maharashtra. It is believed that you should visit Ashta Vinayak at least once in a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *